Posted in all, Weekly Assignments

Week 8-Looking at the past

Hello again! It is already thursday and I can’t say I have done as  much as I would have liked, I have read some history, looked at a lot of old photographs, learned a bit about Photoshop and photography tricks, and started watching “The genius of photography”, but I still have so much to learn and so little time. So I thought it would be a good idea to finish this assignment today so I would have the rest of the week to focus on learning 😀 . Here is the assignment:

Research, written and practical assignment (3 hours)

Go to the library or search on the Internet and find a photograph from the 19th century (taken before 1900). Write a short “think piece” about this photograph. You are free to select any image you would like to write about, as long as the photograph was taken during the 19th century. Examine the photograph carefully and write about what you see and what the photograph makes you think about. Some (but not all) things you could consider are:

  • What does the photograph tell you about the photographer?
  • What does it tell you about the subject of the image?
  • Does the technical quality of the image (or lack thereof) help or hinder the success of the photograph?
  • Where did the photographer stand when he or she took this picture?
  • How does his or her camera position or angle affect the outcome of the image?
    • Why does this picture interest you?

In short, tell me what you think about the image in your own words. This assignment is to be written in a word processor (doc, docx or pdf) and uploaded to your WordPress blog. The image you are writing about should be included as an embedded image in your paper.

As I said before I have been looking at a lot of photographs, most of them are pretty boring or alike, they took a lot of family photos or portraits back then, I guess it was because they had just invented a machine that would make them live forever, or preserve their essence just as it was.  I googled and went to the library and found several interesting pictures, here are some of them:

I found them interesting because they eaither stood out from the majority of the other pictures I found, they gave me a specific feeling or told me a story. Like the one with the little girl at the bottom right. This photograph reminds me of how simple and fun the world was when I was a kid and how one didn’t saw the bad things in this world. I love how the photographer capture that innocent and thoughtful expression, and I really like how the background and her shirt are both black. This makes her head seem like a floating feeling rather than a face, or kind of sculpture. But even thought I found this one quite interesting, it is not the picture I chose.

To find out which one I liked the most, you will have to read my “think piece” in the document bellow.

think-piece

 

Leave a Reply

