Posted in all, Weekly Assignments

Week9- Practical assignment

This week we got to practice and learn a lot of photography! which was really great and fitting in this colorful season. I really enjoyed it and I am still looking forward to get better and take some really great pictures!!

The practical assignment this week was divided into 3 steps, the first one was to watch a lynda.com course called “Digital photography principles” by Ben Long. It started really basic, but I did learn a lot of things I didn’t know and got really inspired.

The second assignment was to read the two first chapters of “From snapshots to great shots” and do the assignments on each chapter.

The assignments of the first chapter included charging your battery, adjusting the iso and the image quality, selecting the proper white balance and practicing, trying out single point and one shot focusing methods, evaluating the pictures with the LCD display, getting familiar with the manual focus mode and practicing holding the camera with a good grip. I had already done most of these things a long time ago.

In the next chapter I had to format my card, checking my firmware version, learn to clean my sensor, exploring the different formats my camera offers to me. exploring my lenses and recording some video clips.

The last step was to take five pictures each day and submit the 6 best at the end of the week:

 

This first image and the header image were the result of experimenting with the exposure adjustment setting on the camera.  I was shutting in program mode so it would be easier to experiment with this.
20161212_0210-modifisert

ISO: 400, Aperture: f/9.0, Shutter speed: 1/200

The next shot was a result of me practicing night photography, I set the camera to shutter priority mode and took the picture with a long exposure time!

img_1401-modifisertISO: 6400,  Aperture: f/25.0,  Shutter speed: 1.0

In this one I was experimenting with Manual mode, I was inside so I wanted to have more control off the light and speed of my camera and I wanted to master the manual mode so I started shooting and I got this great picture of Lizzy 🙂

img_1427-modifisertISO: 1600, Aperture: f/5.6, Shutter speed: 0.3

Here I was shooting inside, practising with the aperture mode to get a wider field of view. I was also experimenting with color in this picture.

20161212_0296-modifisert

 

 

ISO: 6400, Shutter speed: 0.4, Aperture: f/16

I also experimented a bit with the effect “drawing with light”,  in the picture bellow I used the shutter speed priority mode and experimented with long exposure time.

img_1390-modifisertISO: 3200, Aperture: f/20.0, Shutter speed: 1.0

This last picture was the result of portrait experimentation when nobody was around, so I used a really photogenic stuffed doll. My camera was set up in aperture mode.

img_1432-modifisert

 

 

ISO: 6400, Shutter speed: 0.4, Aperture: f/16

 

Happy holidays!

 

Leave a Reply

