Posted in all, Uncategorized, Weekly Assignments

Studio Lightning- Practical Assignment

Take some portrait shots and pay specific attention to the lighting you use. I would like to see a shot with soft lighting and one with more dramatic, harder lighting. It would be beneficial to hire studio lighting, but if you can’t, you may use natural light, reflectors and your camera’s flash.

 

I could not afford to hire studio lighting so I had to experiment with natural light , lamps around my house,  a home-made reflector (which I made out of aluminium foil and a piece of wood) and Photoshop of course. I hade a lot of fun experimenting with light, but I feel that I still have a lot to learn! Here are some pictures of my progress. I fixed most of them in photoshop to practice this aswell.

In this first one I used very harsh lightning, I feel that it would have worked best with a dimmer light or a reflector instead. Here the key light is  natural light ( coming from the window) is right in front of him. The hair light/silhouette light is coming from his left(this would be the harsh light) and an extra filler light is coming from above to his right. So you can see that I tried to experiment with three light set up in this picture.

Toreblue

In the two following pictures I have only used natural light and my home made reflector to fill out the shades, it gives a more natural and pretty look.

IMG_6381-RecoveredIMG_6373-Recovered

In this picture I experimented with a two light setup. I used two lamps on each side of the subject and got this really cool look that makes him seem more angry and marks up his expression really good! sur tore brighter

In this picture I also used only natural light, coming from the window from the subjects right to create a more interesting look. I used a dark background to make more  contrast as well!

DDmodifisert

 

Leave a Reply

