Posted in all, Uncategorized, Weekly Assignments

Presenting “Best Friend Treats”

Develop a name for a dog food product. Design a logo for this product, using full colour. The logo must contain a main visual and typography. (Use the “People Saving Pets” logo as a guide – this does not mean your design should be the same, it is simply an example.) Follow each of the fundamental steps outlined above, in that sequence and take note of what needs to be handed in as you progress through these steps:

I started by brainstorming a name and creating a brand Identity. The name I landed on was “Best Friend Treats”, I imagined this brand as a brand that promotes and helps the friendship between you and your dog by providing you with delicious and nutritious treats to give your dogs. The brand would be cute, give you a warm feeling and remind you of your best friend. Here are some scans of this process:

Scan

As you can see I started to write a lot of words that were dog related first and then I did the same with food. When I was done brainstorming,  I started to come up with names putting them together or inventing them completely. My three finalists were ” The Hungry Wolf”, “Doggylicious” and ” Best Friend Treats” and after writing some pros and cons I landed on the last.

When I had a product name, I figured out I needed to position the brand before I started sketching. So I imagined the brand and put it to life by answering a questionnaire I would give a real client. This would help me work towards a goal while sketching. ffff

With this in mind I stated sketching my  logo.

Exploration

Use sketching techniques to draw thumbnails and hand in your thumbnails as scanned PDFs.

DD1_1DD1fsdfFocus

Highlight three of the thumbnail ideas that you consider the best options and state why. Hand in an A4 with visuals of the three chosen thumbnails; include reasons for choosing each of these three options.

logo ma08Artboard 1-80Construction

Use sketching techniques and redraw ONE of your chosen concept:

I actually kept experimenting with two of them because I was not able to choose one, here you can see the developement of both! 

Untitled picture

Testing

Experiment more with your favourite options from Step 3 and ask the opinion of a few people. Hand in examples of the logos shown to people and write their feedback or opinion on each.

Most of the people I asked had different opinion about the logos above, Most of them did like the circular one in the middle and some of them said it looked too normal. One really liked the one with the square text because it was original and the other thought it looked a lot like a competition logo. 

fe

Refinement

Choose your final design and execute it in Adobe Illustrator, along with the name of the product. Hand in your final logo as an A4 PDF.’

logo

Leave a Reply

